## HOW TO CONVERT A NON-SWISS DRIVING LICENSE TO A SWISS LICENSE



Within one year

(from date of entry to Switzerland)

drivers must transfer their foreign driving license to a Swiss one.

Professional drivers (e.g. lorry drivers) who want to drive motor vehicles of the categories B, B1, C, C1, D, D1, or F matriculated in Switzerland, must obtain the Swiss driving license of that particular category **before** the first professional journey.

Driving licenses issued abroad are recognised if the acquisition occurred during a stay of a minimum of continuous 12 months in the country of issue and an appropriate confirmation is adduced.

	Application form	Doctor's attestation	Control ride	Learner's license
You own a driving license from within the EU or an EFTA country  or one of the following countries:  Andorra, Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, Republic of Korea, Croatia, Morocco, Monaco, New Zealand, San Marino, Singapore, Taiwan, Tunisia, USA	Fill out the application form (include a coloured passport size photo and a vision test).  Take both <b>personally</b> to the road traffic department (Strassenverkehrsamt) or the residents' registration office (Einwohnerkontrolle). Don't forget to also bring your Swiss ID and/or your "Ausländerausweis" - the original, no copies.  If you have a credit card format "Ausländerausweis", you also need to bring a confirmation of residence (Wohnsitzbestätigung) showing the entry date into Switzerland.	If you own a higher category (C1, C, D1, D or BPT) you have to see the doctor of confidence (Vetrauensarzt) for a medical examination.	Persons from the following countries are exempt from the control ride:  EU/EFTA countries *  Other countries: Andorra, Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, Republic of Korea, Croatia, Morocco, Monaco, New Zealand, San Marino, Singapore, Taiwan (only for categories A1 and B), Tunisia, USA  Professional drivers of the categories B, B1, C, C1, D, D1 or F must pass an additional theory test. Exempt are drivers from EU or EFTA countries.  If drivers do not apply for a transfer of their license of these categories at this time, you have to go through the regular application process for a Swiss driving license.	You receive your license by mail. Driving licenses from EU/EFTA states are returned to the country of issue.
You own a driving license from another country	Fill out the application form (include a coloured passport size photo and a vision test).  Take both personally to the road traffic department (Strassenverkehrsamt) or the residents' registration office (Einwohnerkontrolle). Don't forget to also bring your Swiss ID and/or your "Ausländerausweis" - the original, no copies.  If you have an "Ausländerausweis" in credit card format, you also need to bring a confirmation of residence (Wohnsitzbestätigung) showing the entry date into Switzerland.	If you own a higher category (C1, C, D1, D or BPT) you have to see the doctor of confidence (Vetrauensarzt) for a medical examination.	Complete the control ride within three months.  The control ride may not be repeated. We therefore recommend you to update your driving skills. Should you not attend the control ride unexcused, you have failed the control ride.  Consequences of a failed control ride:  Revocation of the foreign driving license  You may not drive in Switzerland any more  The regular application process for a Swiss driving license has to be followed  Where applicable, a waiver of these categories causes drivers to have to go through the regular application process for a Swiss driving license.	Once the control ride was passed, you will receive your license by mail.  The foreign license is handed back to you with a remark imprinted "not valid in Switzerland".  Driving licenses of drivers with "Ausländerbewilligung" type F, N or S are passed to the responsible authority.

- \* EFTA (European Free Trade Association): Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland.
- \* **EU**: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.